December 6th, 2011
Email this page

AP Congress govt wins no confidence motion

AP no confidence motion Hyderabad: The Congress government in Andhra Pradesh comfortably survived the no-confidence motion moved against it by the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) by a huge margin. After over a 16-hour-long debate on the motion moved by Telugu Desam Party (TDP), the house voted on the motion after 1am total of 122 MLAs voted for the motion while 160 MLAs voted against it; one stayed neutral.

Of the 153 Congress members, in the 295-member house, 16 YS Jaganmohan Reddy loyalists defied party whip and voted for the motion; so did a Praja Rajyam Party (PRP) legislator. These Congress MLAs now face disqualification. Chiranjeevi, who has already merged PRP with Congress, had issued a notice asking legislators to vote against the motion after Congress leaders assured to protect PRP legislators’ interests.

Setting the tone for the debate on the no-confidence motion moved by main opposition TDP, Leader of Opposition N Chandrababu Naidu said the farmers in the state were in distress but the government had failed to come to their rescue.”Our only aim is to ensure that justice is done to farmers and the farmers’ agenda should become the national agenda,” the former chief minister had said.

The debate on the no-confidence motion lasted a marathon 16 hours after which voting was taken up at 12.55 am, and the head-count of MLAs were then taken.


Press ctrl+g to toggle between English and Malayalam.