February 11th, 2012
Email this page

CK Chandrappan elected as CPI state secretary

CK ChandrappanKollam: Veteran CPI leader CK Chandrappan who has taken a tough stand against the CPM has been unanimously re-elected as the secretary of the Kerala CPI at the end of the State conference of the part. C K Chandrappan has taken over the reins of the organization from Mr Veliyam Bhargavan who retired from the secretary ship of CPI due to health reasons.

The 89-member state council and the 7-member control commission were elected in the conference. It is this council that elected CK Chandrappan. 12 new people would be included in the state council. Mangode Rdhakrishnan and venugopal Nair have been removed from the council. Mr Chandrappan was a member of the Lok Sabha representing the Thrissur constituencyfrom 1977 to 1980 and from 2004 to 2010. Chandrappan served as Member of the Legislative Assembly of Kerala from 1991 to 1996 representing the Chertala Assembly Constituency.

His father, C.K. Kumara Panikker, was a famous leader of CPI and was known as Vayalar Stalin. C K Chandrappan, the former CPI MP from Trichur, was adjudged the top performer by the National Social Watch, an NGO.




Press ctrl+g to toggle between English and Malayalam.