September 23rd, 2011
Email this page

DMDK to sail alone

DMKChennai: Vijayakanth-led DMDK today released the list of nine Mayoral candidates, clearly indiciating that it would contest alone in the forthcoming civic polls. The list was released by party founder-president Vijayakanth in Chennai today.

DMDK trade union leader Velmurugan would contest against the incumbent Mayor M Subramanian of DMK and AIADMK nominee and social worker Saidai Duraisamy. DMDK Madurai presidium chairman Kaviarasu would contest from Madurai. Coimbatore North party secretary Pandian would be contesting from Coimbatore and party deputy secretary Elangovan from Salem and Seethalakshmi from Tirunelveli.

The party has fielded Sathyavani Sureshbabu in Vellore, Erode South secretary Sivakumar would contest from Erode, Dinesh Kumar from Tirupur and Rajeshwari from Tuticorin. It is to be recalled that AIADMK and DMDK fought the just concluded 13 April Assembly elections together and swept the polls.


Press ctrl+g to toggle between English and Malayalam.