December 22nd, 2011
Email this page

Empowered Committee to visit Mullaperiyar

mullaperiyar-damIdukki: A two member Empowered Committee appointed by the Supreme Court shall visit the Mullaperiyar dam on Saturday. CD Thatte and DK Mehta, the technical members of the EC, will visit the Idukki, Kulamavu, and Cheruthoni dams on their way to Mullaperiyar dam tomorrow.

Mullaperiyar Special Cell chairman MK Parameswaran Nair and member James Wilson, Irrigation Department Chief Engineer P Lathika, and Irrigation Department Executive Engineer (Inter-State Waters) Leena George will accompany the committee members.The team is expected to spend the entire day at the dam. Tamil Nadu authorities have already brought equipment from Maharashtra to check the safety of the dam ahead of the visit of EC members.



Press ctrl+g to toggle between English and Malayalam.