January 5th, 2012
Email this page

Karipur attack on journalists: 21 found guilty

court-orderManjeri: The Manjeri CJM court found 21 people guilty in connection with the attack on journalists who had been to report the welcome ceremony received by Kunhalikutyy at the Karipur airport. The convicts have been sentenced to one year imprisonment. Of the 21 found guilty, 5 have been identified as wanted criminals. Of those accused two persons, Shihab and Sudheerbabu were acquitted by the court due to lack of evidence.

The incident occurred on November 1, 2004. The Muslim League activists had organised a warm ceremonial welcome to Minister Kunhalikutty. This welcome reception was organized right after the sensational shocking revelation made by the ice cream sex scandal case victim Rajeena. Rajeena had made statements against Kunhalikuttyin relation to his involvement in the ice cream palour case. The mediapersons who had been to Karipur airport to report the incident were beaten up by Muslim League activists.

Abdul Majeed is the prime accused in the case. Asianet camera man K P Ramesh, Amritha TV reporter Deepak Dharmadam, Asianet reporter Deepa Varikkasseri, Kairali cameraman Shailesh, NTV cameraman M Sajeev, India Vision reporter Biju Muraleedaran, Indian Express writer N P John, Jeevan TV writer Muthatil Suresh were the those who were injured in the attack.

Kerala News in English

Malayalam News




Press ctrl+g to toggle between English and Malayalam.