February 8th, 2012
Email this page

Kiliroor case: convicts sentenced to 10 years rigorous imprisonment

Kiliroor sex scandal caseThiruvananthapuram: The Thiruvananthapuram CBI special Court pronounced the quantum of sentence for the sensational Kiliroor sex scandal case. The 5 convicts have been sentenced to 10 years of rigorous imprisonmentand 10000 rupee fine. The CBI court had found guilty five accused in the Kiliroor case. Except for the seventh accused all others accused were convicted by the court.

Soman, the seventh accused was acquitted by the Court due to lack of proper evidence. The five accused identified as Praveen, Manoj, Latha Nair, Kochumon, Prasanth have been found guilty under charges of kidnapping, rape of a minor and conspiracy, sources said. The first accused identified as Omanakutty had earlier turned approver.

The fifth accused has been charged of conspiracy and kidnap of a minor girl. He has been sentenced to 15 years of rigorous imprisonment and Rupee 45,000 fine. The fine amount collected from the victims shall be handed over to Shari’s parents.

Praveen, 24, and Manoj, 19, both conductors attached to the Guruvayur depot of the Kerala State Transport Corporation (KSRTC); Latha Nair of Mallappalli; Binu alias Kochumon, 30, of Kottayam; Prasanth, 23, conductor at the KSRTC Guruvayur depot; Somanathan alias Soman, 46, of Kumali; Abdul Lathif alias Collector Lathif, 52, and VK Devadas, 47 were the accused in the case.


Press ctrl+g to toggle between English and Malayalam.