November 8th, 2011
Email this page

MT Vasudevan Nair chosen for Ezhuthachan Award

M T Vasudevan Kozhikode: Eminent writer MT Vasudevan Nair, has been chosen for the highest literary prize instituted by the Kerala government – Ezhuthachan Award. Minister for Culture KC Joseph announced the award at a news conference today. A jury chaired by literary critic M Leelavathi, decided to confer the honour on MT in recognition of his literary career spanning more than 50 years.

“I am extremely happy and honored to receive the award,” MT said.

The award consists of a cash prize of Rs. 1.5 lakh, a citation and a memento. The date of presentation of the award will be announced later. This year the government decided to increase the cash prize from Rs. 1 lakh to 1.5 lakhs, the Minister said. The jury felt that the Ezhuthachan award had been long overdue to the 78-year- old writer, who had won the Jnanpith Award for Randamoozham ( Second Turn) in 1995.

“The worth of the award had also increased”, Mr. Joseph said. The Minister said that MT had won the Kerala Sahitya Academy Awards for his novel Nalukettu in 1958; drama, Gopura Nadayil in 1982 and short story, Swargam Thurakkunna Samayam in 1986. He had also been conferred with the Kendra Sahitya Academy Award for his novel Kaalam in 1970.

Usually the award was announced on November 1 every year. But this year it was delayed owing to the death of Jacob, he added.


Press ctrl+g to toggle between English and Malayalam.