April 9th, 2012
Email this page

CPIM PB: Karat to continue as Gen secretary, VS out, MA Baby in


Kozhikode: The new polit bureau members have been declared. Mr Prakash Karat who was re-elected as Communist Party of India’s (CPI-M) General Secretary for a third term read out the names of the new polit bureau members.  Opposition leader VS Achuthanandan who was ousted from the Polit Bureau for violating organizational principle and discipline on July 14, 2009, has been excluded and former Education Minister MA Baby has been included in the new polit bureau. CITU President AK Padmanabhan and Mr MA Baby are the new faces in the politburo. Two posts have been kept vacant.

VS Achuthanandan shall continue as central committee member.  KK Shailaja has been selected as central committee member.  Buddhadeb Bhattacharya who has not attended the conference due to physical ailments shall continue as polit bureau. Central Committee consisting of 89 members decided the members for the new polit bureau.

The new members include- Prakash Karat, S Ramachandran Pillai, Sitharam Yechuri, Biman Basu, Manik Sarkar, Buddhadeb Bhattacharya, A Varadarajan, VV Raghavulu, Brinda Karat, Nirupam Sen, Kodiyeri Balakrishnan, MA Baby, Soorya Kant Mishra and AK Padmanabhan. Karat who was was re-elected was first elected as General Secretary in 2005 at the New Delhi congress and again at Coimbatore for the second term. Interestingly, the CPI(M) leadership had recently fixed the tenure of its secretaries at all levels to three terms.

As per official sources MA Baby was taken into polit bureau taking his seniority under consideration. Disciplinary action had been taken against MA Baby during the Palghat state conference for his factionalism. Meanwhile, Buddhadeb Bhattacharya, who is said to have expressed desire to be withdraw from the party’s two highest positions – Politburo and Central Committee has been retained in the PB. The party has been unwilling to befriend Mr Buddhadeb who is said to have distanced himself from the party after West Bengals dismal failure in the elections. Soorya Kant Mishra is siad to have been included in the PB as he is a strong resistance to Mamata’s and Maoists attack on the party. Though there were suggestions to increase the number of women representatives in the polit bureau Brinda Karat is the only women representative.





One Response to “ CPIM PB: Karat to continue as Gen secretary, VS out, MA Baby in ”

  1. Siva Prasad

    I think Mr. M A Baby has no quality become a PB Memebr who was also a hopeless Minister in the last Govt. Mr. Achutanand is so popular and people of Kerala love him very much.


Press ctrl+g to toggle between English and Malayalam.