March 13th, 2012
Email this page

Vijay Bahuguna to be sworn in as CM, Harish Rawat resigns

vijay-bahugunaDehra Dun: Congress leader Vijay Bahuguna will be sworn-in new Chief Minister of Uttarakhand at the parade ground in Dehradun today at 5 PM after he submits his letter of being the leader of the Congress legislature party to the Governor Margaret Alva. The Parade Ground has been decked up for the ceremony and security measures have been stepped up. Officials said the ceremony will be shifted to some indoor venue if the weather turns out to be unfavourable.

65 year old Vijay Bahuguna who was former High Court Judge was named the Uttrakhand Chief Minister by Congress president Sonia Gandhi on Monday. In the 70-member House, Congress emerged as the single largest party with 32 MLAs – four short of majority — but managed to get the support of three MLAs of BSP, three Independents and one MLA from Uttarakhand Kranti Dal (P).

Union minister of State for Agriculture and Parliamentary Affairs who lost in the race for Uttarakhand Chief Ministership has meanwhile sent his resignation to Prime Minister Manmohan Singh. The minister is disgruntled as the Congress High Command overlooked his claims for the Chief Minister’s post. This is the second time that Mr Rawat’s claim has been ignored. Mr Rawat, representing Hardwar constituency, was a strong contender for the post.


Press ctrl+g to toggle between English and Malayalam.